How to transfer Steele Expert user-created data to another computer

A user is allowed to download and install Steele Expert to a second computer that he owns, if it is, for example, his desktop and his laptop, or a work and a home computer. In other words a situation where the software would not be used at the same time on both computers.

Here are the steps to transfer/backup all your data created with Steele Expert from one computer to another:

  1. On your main computer, locate with Windows Explorer the Steele Expert user data folder. Its default location is under "My Documents", and its default name is "Steele Expert". (You can see it in Steele Expert by clicking on "Menu > Pages > Global Settings > Settings > Change the User Data Folder").

    To start Windows Explorer, click on the "Start" button on the bottom left of the screen, then "All Programs > Accessories > Windows Explorer".
     

  2. By using a flash drive, external hard drive, CD-R/RW, or any other media, or a direct/network connection copy that folder (named "Steele Expert") to the same location on your second computer (under "My Documents").
     

  3. Optional: If you want to transfer your global program settings as well, copy the following folder from one computer to the other:

    Windows XP: "C:\Documents and Settings\<UserName>\Application Data\Steele Systems\Steele Expert"
    Vista & Windows 7/8: "C:\Users\<UserName>\AppData\Roaming\Steele Systems\Steele Expert"

    In Vista & Windows 7, in order to be able to see the "AppData" folder, you need to start Windows Explorer, press the “Alt” key to bring up its menu, then select from the menu that will appear "Tools > Folder Options > View > Show hidden files, folders and drives" and click "OK".
     

  4. Install the latest program and database you have onto your 2nd computer.
     

  5. Start the Expert program on your 2nd computer. Especially if you are transferring between different versions of Windows, you may need to change your User Data Folder by clicking on "Menu > Pages > Global Settings > Settings > Change the User Data Folder". All your data and settings will have been transferred.